Chanel Coco Blue nail polish review

It’s been far too long without a nail polish review on here for my liking! So what better than some sneaky Chanel action to get back into the swing of things?! May I present to you Chanel’s Coco Blue.

Coco Blue was from the very limited-edition Les Jeans de Chanel Collection, a trio of denim-inspired blue nail polishes released for Vogue’s 2011 Fashion Night Out. After staking out my nearest Chanel cosmetics store for what seemed like weeks on end, I resigned myself to the fact they weren’t going to be released in Hong Kong… until the lovely Carmen told me they had in fact already been released, but only in certain stores! Argh! Of course, by then, they were long sold out… but luckily for me, I had the gorgeous Vicky on the case, who managed to snag me Coco Blue from duty-free on her trip here.

And it really was an extreme case of lucky (very rare where I’m concerned, as you all know by now!), because Coco Blue was the colour I had deemed the fairest of them all! So mega-thanks to Vicky for helping me lay claim to this blissful blue beauty!

Lots of photos have made Coco Blue look like an Easter-egg baby blue, but actually it’s a heavenly shade of super sky blue – and utterly gorgeous with it! It also has a subtle but noticeable pink shimmer running through it, giving it an enchantingly glossy finish whilst still maintaining its creamy dreamy lusciousness. This secret shimmer (and its not a dreaded case of ‘so secret you can’t see it’, as with many Essies!) also prevents it from looking too chalky and harsh, as I have often seen with paler blue nail polishes in the past. It’s the idyllic cloudless summer sky straight from a milkmaid’s dreams.

You may remember me waxing lyrical about Chanel’s Graphite and its magical self-applying formula; well, Coco Blue wasn’t quite as miraculous but it wasn’t far off. Again, my photos show my nails ‘no clean-up required’ so Chanel’s combination of formula and brush shape must be doing something right! The first coat was a little streaky but it evened out beautifully and easily by the second, to leave the divine blue-sky dream you see here!

This really is such a lovely, charming and uplifting colour. It’s a total fairytale blue – the colour of Cinderella’s gown (you shall go to the ball!) but with the pearly shimmer of her glass slippers and the magic touch that only a fairy godmother (Coco herself?!) could bring.

The only major issue? Well, I don’t know about you, but Coco Blue sure don’t look like any pair of jeans I ever owned! It’s waaaaaay too pretty for that!

Looks good with: glass slippers, pumpkin carriages, being home by midnight
Drying time: 5 mins
Coats required: 2
Chips: 5-7 days

Read my review of another Les Jeans de Chanel polish, Blue Boy, here

Chanel Le Vernis Coco Blue, Fall 2011 Fashion Night Out Les Jeans de Chanel Collection

13 responses to “Chanel Coco Blue nail polish review

  1. Rach, this is absolutely beautiful, and against your skin tone, it really pops, but in a highly complimentary way! Once more, your application skills have impressed me, and I love how you described its shimmer – something only Chanel can do so incredibly right! Gorgeous…and may I say, you are so lucky! Us Canadians were completely SNUBBED when this trio was released…..I’m still not over that insult, I’ll tell you (and I’ve been collection Chanel polishes for over 20 years now…not to mention all the other cosmetics from the brand!).

  2. This looks so beautiful on you!!

  3. I’m so glad I was able to grab this for you! It’s so pretty on you, OMG I didn’t realise it was so beautiful! XD ❤

  4. it looks PERFECT against your skin tone Rach! lovely! 🙂

  5. Omggg I have this too and it’s amazinggg
    My mon got it for me a few months back 🙂

  6. Really enjoyed reading this – and your whole blog is smashing. I think I might try wearing Coco Blue this season as a change from my standard glam red 😀

    • Thanks Lauren.

      However, if you don’t already have Coco Blue, good luck finding it! I think it’s long sold out… evilBay might be your best bet.

  7. This looks so beautiful on you!! Really enjoyed reading this.

    Your entire blog is a wonderful source of inspiration, Thank You

Talk to me, people! Leave a comment below...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.