OPI Nicki Minaj Fly nail polish review

Celebrity nail polish collaborations seem to be the next big thing. Forget fragrances, Katy Perry, the Kardashians and even Justin Bieber have been at it recently. The latest celeb lining up to get her mitts on some endorsement money is Nicki Minaj and OPI’s Fly is one of six polishes in her small but perfectly-formed collection.

At least, unlike Bieber, Minaj’s collection is exactly fitting with her image (not sure when you’d expect to see Justin sporting polish with little heart sequins in it). It’s loads of in-your-face brights, vibrant rainbow hues that would totally clash if all worn together – and I’m sure Minaj has probably tried!

Fly is vividly vibrant teal crème. I’ve seen a lot of photos on the Internet (damn you swatches!) that made it look rather more blue-leaning but in reality, I found this was pretty much a straight-up teal in my book.

That’s not to say there’s anything wrong with that… after all, turquoise *is* one of my favourite colours… it’s just I already own about ten of them; Fly reminded me of a non-matte version of China Glaze’s Turned Up Turquoise (though I remember that leaning a bit greener).

What Fly does have going for it though is a great formula. A fly formula you might even say, if you wanted to be down with the kids. It’s easy to apply, a nicely flowing consistency that’s totally opaque in two coats, with a gorgeously smooth and glossy finish. Oh that all polishes were as easy to use as this one!

The colour is gorgeous (not a hint of dustiness, seemingly found in every nail polish nowadays) and the formula is fantastic. If you are in the market for a perfect teal that delivers on the kapow factor, I cannot recommend Fly enough. If, however, you already have ten turquoises lined up in your nail polish stash, then it’s probably one you can live without. Unless you’re crazy like me, of course…

Looks good with: summer brights, Pop Art, not having another 10 teals in your collection
Drying time: 5-7 mins
Coats required: 2
Chips: 5-7 days

Read my reviews of the rest of the OPI Nicki Minaj Collection:
     •  Did It On ‘Em
     •  Pink Friday

OPI Fly, Spring 2012 Nicki Minaj Collection, $70, Cher2

2 responses to “OPI Nicki Minaj Fly nail polish review

  1. I’d veered away from this color, figuring it was “too much”, but you’ve reignited my interest. It looks ABSOLUTELY lovely on you.

    FB

Talk to me, people! Leave a comment below...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.